Geared up To Lead Tomorrow

My Development as a Future Leader

Fig. 1 Pictures with Team

In this fast-evolving world, there is an invitation for a new breed of leadership: Leadership that is innovative, diverse and inclusive. To lead in the 21st century it is essential for #GirlOnTheMove like myself, to seek knowledge and constantly develop herself. This blog reflects on how I have developed as a Future Leader throughout this term while pursuing my MBA in Global business.

“Leadership is hard to define and good leadership even harder. But if you can get people to follow you to the ends of the earth, you are a great leader”

– Indra Nooyi

Basically, Leadership is the process of influencing others to understand and agree about what needs to be done and how to do it (Yukl, 2010:26)

Contrary to some experts, Grandma says I was born a leader, 1st grandchild and daughter to the family. I wear this badge so proudly, always conscious of who I am and whose I am. I have also realized that, whether by election or appointment, wherever am at, I somehow became a leader – mostly ‘leading from the front’; setting the pace for others to follow(Hill 2019). Paraphrasing, “Serious leaders understand that, both by design and default, they’re always leading by example. Smart leaders want to build their brands and leading by example is integral to their “leadership brand.” (Schrage 2016). I am of the conviction, that everything I do, at its core, goes to serve this brand.

During a class debate, for which I was against the motion “First, Let’s Fire All The Managers”, without any rehearsal or plan, my brand of leadership, as witnessed by my classmates, soon came on the chopping board. You see, I had the privilege of handpicking and leading 2 different teams for different assignments, and that day, either teams just happened to be on opposite sides. Team A said, “Eugenia is great leader” while Team B argued, “No, Eugenia is Great Manager who Leads”. Dumbfounded, I wondered how could the same person(Me) exhibit 2 different personalities. Applying the Mckinsey 7s framework, I later realized that it wasn’t I that was 2, but the Teams, hence the difference in my style of leadership.

So am I a Manager or a Leader?

I am of the view that a King can never do without His General and neither can a Leader do without a Manager. I am a Leader with Managerial skills, nonetheless, when the situation demands, I am a Manager who Leads. So why choose when I can be both? Either ways, the job gets done.

Every group is not a team – A team is a group of people who do collective work and are mutually committed to a common team purpose and challenging goals related to that purpose (Hill & Lineback 2012).

Trusting your Team to Lead.

I love working in Teams, whether I am leading them or not. It is really important for me to surround myself, with a team whose opinions and work I trust, who are not in any way frightened to disagree with me and who I wouldn’t need to micro-manage.

The Belbin Team role came in handy, by matching observed team behavior to measured psychological traits, with the aim of building my ideal Teams.

Fig. 4 Belbin Profile

One interesting article, “What Great Managers do?”  taught me that it is essential to know and value the unique abilities and even the eccentricities of each team member, and learn how best to capitalize on them. Average managers play checkers, while great managers play chess(Buckingham 2005). Unlike checkers, each type of piece in chess, moves in a different way. You can’t play if you don’t know how each piece moves and most importantly, you won’t win if you don’t think and plan carefully about how you move the pieces.

There were 3 main areas I sought to develop.

Relationship Development: There is psychological relationship between leaders and followers(Hill & Lineback 2012). To be an effective leader, I needed to adopt a suitable style of leadership which creates an environment of trust and brings meaning and purpose to the relationship. Like a Situational Leader, I tend to adjust my leadership style to the context I face(Johnson et al. 2017, p.471).

Fig. 5 Styles of LEadership

Technical Skill Development: Developing soft skills as a leader is critical to my success. Going through case studies Aetna – Leading the Change, Ricardo Semler, Lehman brothers also challenged my understanding on leadership and appreciate ethical leadership.

Awareness Development: Self-awareness is as important as knowing your team. Johari’s window, was an excellent personality-evaluation tool I used, based on the feedback I received from my teammates.

Open: I agree with my Belbin profile, that I am an Implementer, a Coordinator and a Shaper.

Hidden: My colleagues were shocked to see me being autocratic, because I had always created a liberal and democratic atmosphere in my teams. But whenever I feel the Team is going off-course, I don’t mind being a little strict if it gets the work done. Mum calls it ‘The Headmistress mode’

Blind spot: I am stubborn? Wow, this was new to me.

Unknown: Yes, I thrive under pressure. But my team and I realized, this was becoming a habit. I over work myself, and sometimes, overwork the Team too.

Feedback from Team members

When the honeymoon is over, how do I get my Team to still perform?

Changes Groups/Teams go through

Generally, it’s great to lead when everyone is committed and doing things right. It’s frustrating when the attention is divided and interest is lost, for example, during weeks where we had assignments to give. Here, it’s easy to assume McGregor’s Theory X that assumes that workers are lazy and need to be coerced, controlled, and threatened with punishments, but I believe with the right set of motivation, people can do better(Mullins 2016).

Fig. Maslow’s Hierarchy of Needs

Abraham Maslow’s Hierarchy of Needs helped me to understand what motivates people. Everyone is capable and has the desire to move up the hierarchy to attain self-actualization but unfortunately, progress is often disrupted by failure to meet lower level needs (McLeod 2007).

Personally, I am at a stage where I no longer seek for social recognition or just a pay-check. I look for opportunities for growth, creativity and advancement.

Leading Tomorrow

In the foreseeable future, the most effective leaders will lead from behind, not from the front(Hill 2019). I am inclined to adopt Laissez-Faire style of leadership, just like Ricardo Semler. It will not feel natural, but I believe sometimes doing ‘less is more’.

My experiences from studying and working with people of different nationalities have helped me become the Leader I am today. Everyone is different and I have learnt to appreciate them all. I keep learning, I keep growing.

Like Indra Nooyi, I hope to be a leader who people love to follow.

I am #GirlOnTheMove

References

Buckingham, M. (2005). What great managers do. IEEE Engineering Management Review33(2), 3-10.

Hill, L., & Lineback, K. (2012). Good Managers lead through a Team. The Portal. Journal of the International Association of Movers.

Hill, L. (2019). Leading from Behind. [online] Harvard Business Review. Available at: https://hbr.org/2010/05/leading-from-behind [27 Nov. 2019].

Johnson, G., Scholes, K., Whittington, R., Angwin, D. and Regnér, P. (2017) Exploring Strategy : Text And Cases. 11th edition. Harlow: Pearson education Limited

McLeod, S. (2007). Maslow’s hierarchy of needs. Simply psychology, 1.

Mullins, L.J. (2016), Management and Organisational Behaviour, 9th Edition, Harlow: Pearson Higher Education.

Schrage, M. (2016) ‘Like It or Not, You Are Always Leading by Example’ Harvard Business Review [online] October 05, 2016.  Available from < https://hbr.org/2016/10/like-it-or-not-you-are-always-leading-by-example> [04 December 2019]

Yukl, G. (2013) Leadership in organizations. 8th edition. Harlow: Pearson Education Limited

31 thoughts on “Geared up To Lead Tomorrow

  1. Hi!
    I really liked your blog. You explain your background and development as a leader in a concise and clear way.
    But I would like to know what your plan is to develop yourself as a leader of laissez faire that you aspire to be in the future?

    Liked by 1 person

    1. Dear Charles,

      As a #GirlOnTheMove, I am definitely going to be in a position to lead.
      Going forward, I am going to be more inclusive of others, even though that will be hard, i must confess. Because sometimes, that delays decision-making and many other things. However, I will have to find new strategies that will make people feel emotionally part of the cause/ business / team.
      Sharing power and responsibilities so that whether we loose or win, we know we all did it fairly.
      I still have a lot to learn.

      Liked by 1 person

  2. Hi Eugenia,

    It like the way you presented your blog,
    The thing i noticed in you when we were working in a team is when you make up your mind Nothing stands your way. that’s the best quality,
    Even i admire the most in every individual to show how determined your goal is.
    keep going girl..✌
    Inspire people as much as you can with your blogs.

    Liked by 1 person

    1. You are right Sravya, when I make up my mind, nothing stops me.lol
      I guess that’s why you all say I can be stubborn at times. hahaha. I am just not used to describing myself with that word.
      Good to know that I inspire you.
      But honestly, i feel so blessed to work with you guys. We had our fallouts, but you all worked hard and didn’ t give me much stress.
      I really appreciate you all.

      Like

  3. Without doubt, this is well researched hence informative. It is a good read.

    From my perspective, “the most effective” and good leader, in the past, now or tomorrow is someone who leads from behind (the shepherd) and is at the same time a servant to *his team. Well-done Eu.

    Liked by 1 person

    1. Well, Michael, I think the great leader knows when to step forward, or step aside or step back and Lead.
      This is where awareness of the environment and of yourself becomes very important.
      You dont always have to lead from the front, but sometimes you do.
      Leading from the back is not traditional, it’s not natural, but it is possible. You just need to know how to lead your flock, no matter your position.

      Thanks Michael, I really appreciate your comments.

      Like

  4. “If you are a good leader, you are a good listener”- Richard Branson
    You can be a good listener only if you lead from behind and work as a servant to your team. Great work Eugenia.

    Like

    1. Yep, you are right. A good leader must be a good listener as well.
      But I think you can equally listen while leading from the front. Its your choice to be autocratic or democratic no matter where you stand to lead.

      Like

  5. The name Мама Долга didn’t come by chance.
    You were like the head of your group.

    Inclusiveness is a very key trait of a great leader.
    How do i bring each and everyone on board for the success of the team ?

    As a great leader, you should be able to know your team members strengths and weaknesses so you can get the best out of them so you all win together.

    Liked by 1 person

    1. Ooo Jeff, you had to mention that name..hahahaha
      Yep, you are right, inclusiveness is key.
      When your people feel a part of the cause, they are more committed and more willing.
      No one can build Rome alone. If you want to go further, win with people.

      Like

    1. Well, being a situational Leader can be challenging at times, as you always have to adopt to your environment
      to get the task done and also find the right motivation for your team.
      It means, you go the extra mile to be very attentive and not judge too quickly.
      Not everyone is the same.
      But i have realised, the more diverse your team is, the more you learn and the better you become.

      Thanks Ed.What has been your greatest challenge as well?

      Like

  6. Good write up.

    Irrespective of where we find ourselves to lead, there will always come a time where we adopt the “Situational style”.

    We may at a point have to be Democratic, Autocratic or Laissez-faire kind of leader to some team members or all the members of the team.

    It will be based on the strengths or otherwise of everyone on the team, the task at hand, time frame to accomplish task etc.

    Liked by 1 person

  7. The kind of effort and Hardwork you have put for this blog is evident here. Brilliant research and very well scripted.
    Keep it up!. I would like know how are you going to work on your weakness basis on the belbin team roles?

    Like

    1. One day at a time, Rashwanth.
      Now that I am aware, I will consciously try to share power when necessary, listen more and try to keep teams motivated all times as much as I can.
      I am learning to lead from the back…hahaha

      Any advice from you?

      Like

    1. Leadership is basically service, you are right Samuel.
      But sometimes, the idea of service moves from ‘service to people’ to ‘service to purpose’
      This is where ethical leadership steps in

      Like

    1. I wouldn’t call this fear, but the challenges of being #GirlOnTheMove, being authentic in the face of culture and society demands,
      having a say and not being overlooked, not because you are not capable, but because you are just a woman, those are things I face everyday as a Leader.

      Thanks Gyagyeba.

      Like

  8. Wow Jennie, I love your blog. It’s interesting, inspiring and educative. I’m learning a lot from just following you on your quest for leadership. It feels like being in the class with you. Keep it up. #GirlonTheMove

    Liked by 1 person

  9. Good Job!

    I particularly like the part of “I am stubborn? Wow, this was new to me.” 🙂 It was good to read on your reflections and acceptance of self and combined with all the concepts, theories and experiences you had during your MBA on your blog in a cohesive way.

    There are definitely many aspects to which I can relate and I am sure that this brings comfort to other independent women who are misunderstood as angry and strident feminists. On this note, what advise would you give to other young women in the same situation as yourself?

    It will be fun to watch you grow as source of strength and inspirations to women. Keep it up!

    Liked by 1 person

    1. Hmm, Narcia,
      Everyone’s scenario is different. Just do you, I always say.
      Be authentic in every way and in your leadership. So people know who they are dealing with.
      There is the temptation to be who society demand of a woman especially, but look beyond that and be unapologetically authentic.

      Like

  10. A good leader is always a good listener and that’s what you reflect, your leadership style and method fits you best and You should keep that hustle going! Just a quick question, do you see yourself using other methods other than the Laissez-Faire style of leadership to reflect on your leadership style in the future?

    Liked by 1 person

    1. Hey Danah,
      I hope to be innovative in my leadership, not fixed to just 1 style.
      I know I need to develop the Laissez-Faire more, not that I don’t trust people to lead, but I just always want to go the extra mile, and don’t like it when people do just ok jobs.

      Like

  11. Most definately, i love this excellent piece, but as a reminder to all (and hellowapi), ”True leaders always practice the three R’s: Respect for self, Respect for others, Responsibility for all their actions.

    Liked by 1 person

  12. Hmmmmm interesting. I kind of see myself in the picture. Much as leaders are made I believe they are also born Both ways I believe if skills are not developed and managed there would be leadership crisis. As you rightly said the leader can be one but the teams and situations may differ and this is where the skill and management comes in

    Like

  13. A great leader posses a clear vision, is courageous, has integrity, honesty, humility and clear focus.

    I can boldly say i see all this in you. Keep up the good work.

    Like

  14. It is said that leadership is cause and everything else is effect. So, clearly, good leadership is critically important in our part of the world, Africa. There is no denying the fact that bad leadership – mainly dictatorship from both civilian and military governments – has brought us this far.

    Though I agree generally with the idea that the form of leadership to be exercised depends on the situation, I believe democratic leadership is the one to be exercised in normal human situations. This is because it is more inclusive, creative and contributive. Thumbs up for this article.

    Like

Leave a comment

Design a site like this with WordPress.com
Get started